The Grand Tour of Catalonia

The Grand Tour of Catalonia is a journey that explores the area from north to south and east to west. It is an itinerary for exploring, discovering, living, experiencing and enjoying Catalonia by car. It is one trip that includes many trips, so that each traveller can organise it to their liking, travel at their pace, at any time of the year, and choose from a great range of diverse experiences.

Section 1: Barcelona – Tarragona

The starting point of the Grand Tour of Catalonia is the city of Barcelona and its modernist legacy, which takes us to Roman Tarragona, land of calçots, cava and xató. Along the way we discover the mountain of Montserrat, Cardona and its castle and the historical and artistic heritage of Solsona. It also reveals the vineyards and the wineries of the Penedès, the charm of Sitges and the musical history of Pau Casals in El Vendrell, all the way to the beaches of the Garraf and the north of the Costa Daurada.

Section 2: Tarragona – Lleida

Beginning in Roman Tarraco, this section follows the coastline of the Costa Daurada, between ancient olive trees and vineyards, where we can taste the seafood cuisine of Cambrils and explore the Delta de l’Ebre by canoe or bicycle. Leave the coast behind and head inland along the Ebre river to discover the wild nature of the Ports, the art of Picasso, the wine cathedrals of the Terra Alta and Priorat and the impressive monasteries of the Cistercian Route, such as Poblet, before finally arriving in Lleida.

Section 3: Lleida – La Seu d’Urgell

From Lleida and its iconic Seu Vella, this section leaves the plains and enters the Catalonian Pyrenees. The Val d’Aran, its little medieval villages, the starry sky of Montsec and the pair of Romanesque churches in the Vall de Boí become our travel companions. This trip also includes a visit to the Aigüestortes i Estany National Park in Sant Maurici and adventure sports on the Noguera Pallaresa river, before arriving at the Seu d’Urgell.

Section 4: La Seu d’Urgell – Figueres

Starting at the Seu d’Urgell, this stretch heads east across the Catalonian Pyrenees around the Cadí-Moixeró Natural Park. The route passes through the Ripoll monastery, with its façade of biblical scenes, the Garrotxa Volcanic Zone Natural Park and its 40 volcanoes, and through iconic municipalities of the area such as Santa Pau, Besalú and Banyoles. It culminates in Figueres, the gateway to the universe of Dalí’s genius.

Section 5: Figueres – Barcelona

From Figueres this section continues to explore the surreal world of Dalí, visiting Cadaqués and Cap de Creus. It continues along the Costa Brava and its seaside towns with their coastal roads and fishing ports, such as Palamós. Medieval villages such as Peratallada offer the chance to take a break before crossing the Montseny mountain range and stopping off at the beaches and fishing villages of Costa Barcelona. The journey ends in Barcelona.